August 27th & 28th 

ROC Modified Top Five:
Southern Tier 200
August 28th, 2005
2. Rusty Smith
3. Tony Hanbury
4. Zane Zeiner
5. T.J. Potrzebowski

SST Modified Top Five:
August 27th, 2005
2. George Kent
3. Tony Hanbury
4. Rick Zacharias
5. Bill Hebing

Street Stock Top Five:
August 28th, 2005
Mike Nichols
Jay Mudra 
Derrick Tarbox
JR. Roth

Legend Car Top Five:
August 27th, 2005
2. Rob Brierton
3. Matt Priscott
4. Art Priscott
5. Bill Fitzsimmons

Late Model Top Five:
August 27th, 2005
2. Bill Catania
3. John Wilber
4. Jim Brown
5. Chris Cacialli

This Site Best Viewed In
 800 x 600

Site Created & 
Maintained By:

Last Updated
9/4/05  3:39pm

August 28th - Day Two Results
by Carol Houssock

(Owego, NY) Hundreds of race fans packed Tioga Motorsports Park Sunday afternoon for the final day of racing at the legendary ˝-mile asphalt oval. On hand a mix of rookies and veterans, young and old, all there to salute the track. Jan Leaty won the Southern Tier 200, the final Sunoco Race of Champions North Division race of the year. RJ Zacharias joined his extended family, whose history there is so rich, in victory lane after claiming the 30-lap Street Stock ROC qualifier. When it was over fans poured into the pits while others lined up to enjoy a pig roast with all the trimmings, including live music.

The first order of business was the running of time trials for the Modifieds. Counting the better of 2 laps, the fastest dozen earned their way into the feature and a draw for the top 12 starting spots. Eric Beers appeared to earn a new track record until he came up light on the scales and had the record run disqualified. Lee Sherwood, multi-time track champion, had fastest time and the first shot to draw the pole. That’s exactly what he did, and Tony Hanbury drew #2 to fill the front row.

With the cars lined up along the front stretch, and race teams gathered, ROC Promoter and former Tioga Speedway Promoter Andy Harpell introduced each driver. Gentleman Jim Zacharias, a track Hall of Fame member, shook each driver’s hand. He then spoke about the track and thanked everyone for coming to the final race before saying good-bye. For his final duty at the track he gave the command to start the engines. For one of his final duties, Promoter Chris Zacharias waved the white flag.

Lee Sherwood and Tony Hanbury brought the 32-car field to the green and Sherwood led the way, with Hanbury, Jan Leaty, Matt Hirschman and TJ Potrzebowski in the top 5. By lap 15 Hirschman got around Hanbury, but he reclaimed the spot by the 20th lap. Sherwood, however, had a big lead evaporate when Dan Kurzejewski, driving the Frisbie-owned mount, slowed with motor trouble. On the restart Hanbury got the better of Leaty and he ran nose-to-tail with leader Sherwood. Two cautions near the lap 50 mark kicked pit strategy into the equation, as each team had to pit past lap 50. Leaty, George Kent, and Hirschman opted to go in for service. Sherwood and Hanbury went back to work when the green came back out and on lap 64 Hanbury found the opening he’d been looking for and took over the lead in the famed gold #71 owned by the Zacharias family. As lap 100 approached Hanbury, Hirschman and Eric Beers were contesting for the $1,000 prize for leading ........ Click Here For The Full Story

August 27th, 2005 - Day One Results
Earl Paules, Jim Lamoreaux and Rich Petrucco Win Tioga's Final Saturday Features

(Owego, NY)  A huge crowd turned out for day 1 of the 2-day Tioga Motorsports Park finale weekend.  The track, formerly called Shangri-la, is rich in history but scheduled for demolition.  Promoter Chris Zacharias put together an action-packed, fun weekend fitting the great lady she’s been since 1946.  The parking lot was packed, campers filled the turn 4 area, nostalgia was everywhere, and everyone was geared up for the final SST-Modified, Late Model and Legends races.  Earl Paules won the SST-Tour ROC qualifier, Jim Lamoreaux claimed the Late Model ROC qualifier, and Rich Petrucco took the Legends feature.  Following the racing action fans enjoyed music by the group After Dark.  And the parties continued on into the night.

With 36 SST mods on hand, the first 20 starting spots were established by the top 5 finishers of the 4 heats. George Kent, Bill Hebing, Gene Sharpsteen and Earl Paules won those 4 heats. Everyone outside the top 5 in those heats ran in a consi. Rowan Pennick and Cody Gregg claimed the 2 consolation races. They, along with the 4 finishers behind them, advanced to the 30-car field feature. George Kent pulled #1 from the bucket, which put him on the pole for the 75-lap race, alongside  ..... Click Here For The Full Story

Rich Petrucco Jim Lamoreaux

Thanks For The Memories

Track Phone: 607-687-7581

Please Direct All Track
Related Questions to:

Chris Zacharias

Please Direct any
Web Site Comments to: